Consumer Watchdog Files FTC Complaint Over “Send To Anyone On Google+” Feature

consumerwatchdogConsumer Watchdog, the non-profit group that might more accurately be called “Google Watchdog,” has filed a complaint with the FTC over Google’s recent rollout of a feature that lets Gmail users contact Google+ users without knowing the recipient’s email address.

Google launched the “Send to Anyone on Google+” feature earlier this month, which lets anyone with a Gmail and Google+ account send messages to anyone else with Gmail and Google+ accounts. Google made the feature opt-out, meaning users that didn’t want to potentially get messages from strangers via Gmail/Google+ had to turn it off in their Gmail settings.

In its complaint this week (PDF version), Consumer Watchdog calls the feature “an obvious invasion of a person’s privacy and a delight for potential stalkers.” The organization also says that it violates the terms of the 2010 FTC/Google settlement over Google Buzz, Google’s now-defunct social service.

It is a material change from past information and data sharing practices on Google+ and Gmail. According to Section II (B) of the “Buzz” Consent Agreement, Google must “Obtain express affirmative consent from the user to such sharing.” The Gmail/Google+ link as announced on Jan. 9 does not provide for affirmative consent when it is an opt-out choice rather than an opt-in decision. Perhaps a few people would like to receive messages from total strangers. That would be an allowable opt-in choice. The current plan violates the Buzz agreement.

Consumer Watchdog is basically asking the FTC to tell Google that the feature should be opt-in, not opt-out, in order to conform to the Buzz settlement.

The FTC complaint also goes on at length about Google+ violating people’s privacy because a user can be added to someone else’s circles without permission … which is exactly how following someone on Twitter works. This part of Consumer Watchdog’s complaint also incorrectly says that Facebook doesn’t associate two individuals without permission, ignoring the fact that you can also “Follow” people on Facebook without permission, and that simply sending a friend request makes a connection between two people before the friend request is accepted or rejected.

Related Topics: Channel: Industry | Google | Google: Gmail | Google: Google+ | Google: Legal | Google: Privacy | Legal | Legal: Privacy | Top News

Sponsored


About The Author: is Editor-In-Chief of Marketing Land. His news career includes time spent in TV, radio, and print journalism. His web career continues to include a small number of SEO and social media consulting clients, as well as regular speaking engagements at marketing events around the U.S. He recently launched a site dedicated to Google Glass called Glass Almanac and also blogs at Small Business Search Marketing. Matt can be found on Twitter at @MattMcGee and/or on Google Plus. You can read Matt's disclosures on his personal blog.

Connect with the author via: Email | Twitter | Google+ | LinkedIn



Marketing Day:

Get the top marketing stories daily!  

Share

Other ways to share:
 

Read before commenting! We welcome constructive comments and allow any that meet our common sense criteria. This means being respectful and polite to others. It means providing helpful information that contributes to a story or discussion. It means leaving links only that substantially add further to a discussion. Comments using foul language, being disrespectful to others or otherwise violating what we believe are common sense standards of discussion will be deleted. You can read more about our comments policy here.
  • PStrohm

    Consumer Watchdog is microsoft’s attack dog, nothing more…

  • http://www.alanredd.net/ D Alan Redd

    That they may be .. but it was just a little unnerving to have names of people I never knew showing up in my Gmail wanting me to send them mail or a response of some sort … just a tad bit Creepy me thinks ..

  • PStrohm

    sure,but if you don’t responds they won’t be able to email you again, and they go to social tab which I don’t check usually. As long they don’t go to my primary tab I’m fine. Besides they won’t know your email address.

Get Our News, Everywhere!

Daily Email:

Follow Marketing Land on Twitter @marketingland Like Marketing Land on Facebook Follow Marketing Land on Google+ Subscribe to Our Feed! Join our LinkedIn Group Check out our Tumblr! See us on Pinterest

 
 

Click to watch SMX conference video

Join us at one of our SMX or MarTech events:

United States

Europe

Australia & China

Learn more about: SMX | MarTech


Free Daily Marketing News!

Marketing Day is a once-per-day newsletter update - sign up below and get the news delivered to you!