Don’t Miss Important Google+ Posts Again With New “Get Notifications” For Google+
It appears that Google is testing out a new feature for Google+ users that will help keep them in touch with their most important friends. A new feature “Get Notifications” will help users “Never miss another post … get notifications whenever important people in your life share something new on Google+.”
The above screen appears for many users when they first log-in to Google+, then the functionality mysteriously disappears afterwards. Seeing that the notifications are simply for users already in circles, it appears the functionality to operate much like Facebook’s “Close Friends.” When a user who has been signed up to “get notifications” posts an update, the Google+ user who added them will receive an update.
Notifications will be for posts only, so comments or +1′s won’t trigger a notification.
To see the page for your self, simply visit: https://plus.google.com/up/subscribe
UPDATE: Google has officially announced this feature.
Some opinions expressed in this article may be those of a guest author and not necessarily Marketing Land. Staff authors are listed here.
(Some images used under license from Shutterstock.com.)
Kick off each Monday with the best news and ideas in social media.