As previously rumored, a new personalized messaging capability has landed on Instagram. Dubbed ‘Instagram Direct,’ the service allows users to share content with specific users (or groups of users) for private conversations. This feature will help Instagram become a more well rounded social network that groups of friends can use and will stop the need of outside apps for direct communication. When a message is sent ‘direct’, only a given number of users will be able to view and can comment exactly like any other Instagram post, only it’s private.
How To Use
Users will now see a new icon in the top corner of their home feed and can see all of the information that people have sent. When posting photos, simply look to the top banner and choose “Direct” instead of “Followers”. You then be able to select a user (or users) whom you’d like to share with. Before sending, you’ll have to click on the “send to # users” to ensure that you wanted to share with that given number.
Once shared, private comment threads can occur on each image/video by only those Instagrammers that the content has been shared with:
Additionally, you can block users from ever sending you ‘direct’ content. When the request comes through a user must approve the sender and can just as easily block them from sending:
For more information, head on over to the Instagram blog.