Yesterday, Twitter was in an uproar over tweaks to the block system due to system changes. Today, Twitter should be back in users’ good graces as they’ve quickly rescinded the functionality.
The change to the blocking system allowed those users who’ve been blocked to view Tweets from the Blocker. Before this initial change, users weren’t able to see anything from an account that had blocked them. This initial change allowed those that had been blocked to view and Tweet at the person who had done the blocking. This change effectively killed blocking users on Twitter. Clearly, this made many people feel unsafe and outraged. The goal of blocking a user is to stop communication, and this change thwarted that objective.
Well, today they’ve reverted the blocking changes back to the previous mandate after the hullabaloo that arose. Users are now notified that they are blocked and can no longer view Tweets from the blocker nor respond with an @reply. If you had previously blocked a user, they will remain instituted in the block list. An official post from Twitter states:
“We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe. Any blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect.”
For more information, please see the official blog from Twitter.