Twitter’s verified users have two new filtering options on their “Connect” tab that are aimed at weeding out spam and making it easier to communicate with other verified users.
The two new filters are labeled “Filtered” and “Verified.” In an email to verified users, Twitter explained how both tabs works:
If you click on “filtered,” you will see a new feed based on an algorithm we use to filter out spam. Clicking on the “verified” tab will give you a stream of Tweets from verified users only.
The “All” option shows the standard, unfiltered look at the user’s mentions. Here’s a screenshot from @dannysullivan’s account:
Twitter says the goal with this new filtering is “to improve your experience of reading through your mentions, as well as easily communicating with other verified users.”
That latter option will be helpful to a lot of the celebrities and brands on Twitter — accounts that get way more mentions than they can easily keep up with. In one sense, it’s a nod to the importance of keeping well-known users happy and active on Twitter, particularly when Facebook is also trying to court more big names. At the same time, it also opens up the door for brands to interact with one another more, like in the famous exchange between Oreo and AMC Theatres last September:
— AMC Theatres (@AMCTheatres) September 25, 2012
The new filters for verified users will show up only on the Twitter website for now, but the company says they’ll be added to Twitter’s mobile apps soon, too.