Yelp Users Can Now Edit Business Details On The Go
Yelp’s new iPhone app update makes it easier for users to edit and add business listings.
According to Yelp’s blog post, the company’s latest iPhone app update gives users the option to:
- edit business information like Name, Category, Hours, Address and Map information (and even answer the question, “Permanently closed?”)
- add new businesses to Yelp
- share business photos to Facebook and Twitter
Here’s an official photo showing some of the new options:
The new options mirror what users have already been able to do on Yelp’s website. If a user submits changes to a business listing on Yelp.com, Yelp includes a disclaimer that says “changes will be verified by a moderator at Yelp Headquarters within a few days.” Yelp’s blog post today says the same thing process will be in place for mobile changes:
It’s important to note that while yelpers can edit and add this information on the go, it still goes through the same vetting process that happens on Yelp.com. Once our team reviews and verifies your changes, it will go live.
Google has suffered through problems over the years since it began to allow user edits on business listings, but it also has a system in place now that similarly requires company vetting before those edits go live. (Although it should be said that the process is far from perfect.)
Some opinions expressed in this article may be those of a guest author and not necessarily Marketing Land. Staff authors are listed here.
(Some images used under license from Shutterstock.com.)
Get the latest news in local marketing each week.