You Can Now Transfer Your Google+ Circles & Connections
Ronald Ho, Product Manager for Google+, announced on his Google+ page that you can now transfer your Google+ circles and connections to another account.
Yes, there is now a Google migration tool for Google+ connections.
I personally went through this process a few days ago, as an early beta user. My old Google+ profile was migrated to my new Google+ profile in a matter of a few days. By migrated I mean my circle names, circle members, “your circles” settings, and people and pages I’ve blocked or ignored have all been migrated to my new Google+ account.
What is not migrated is content I’ve shared, pages I created, and my authorship information. It is a shame I lost all of that but I can start fresh with new content and I knew not to create pages under my old account, so I am not too worried about that. Although, a week ago, I did change my authorship URLs to my new profile, however, Google still lists my old authorship profile in the Google Search results. I am not sure when that will migrate.
If you want to migrate your Google+ account to a different Google account, follow these instructions. Things to note, it will take several days to start the process and when the process starts, you won’t be able to share content on Google+, add or remove people to and from circles or block or ignore people for about 48 hours.
Some opinions expressed in this article may be those of a guest author and not necessarily Marketing Land. Staff authors are listed here.
(Some images used under license from Shutterstock.com.)
Kick off each Monday with the best news and ideas in social media.